Polls for 34 ZP seats in C'magalur dist

Polls for 34 ZP seats in C'magalur dist

The staff has already been deployed in polling booths on Thursday itself. Officers on election duty have checked electronic voting machines (EVM) at the STJ College campus before leaving to their respective polling booths.

The district has a total of 924 polling stations. While there are 147 hyper sensitive booths in the district, 288 are sensitive and 549 are ordinary booths. A total of 49 polling booths are there in the naxal infested regions of Mudigere, Koppa and Sringeri.

Additional forces
Additional forces including seven DySPs, 14 CPIs, 85 PSIs, 100 ASIs, 340 HCs, 1,227 PCs, 600 home guards, 13 KSRP platoons, 21 DAR platoons and more than 200 ANF cops have been brought to the district for the smooth conduct of elections. In addition, six platoons of para-military forces too will also be deployed for the election duty.

Polling booths in naxal infested regions will be guarded by one HC, PC, home guard each and five ANF cops.

A total of 5,200 officials and 91 sectoral officers will be on duty for election in the district, while 375 vehicles have been arranged for the conveyance of officials to booths.