International varsity mooted

International varsity mooted

Committee submits report on Bangalore University trifurcation

 A high-level academic committee on the trifurcation of Bangalore University (BU) has recommended that one of the newly-carved out varsities be developed into international standards offering state-of-the-art integrated courses in space technology, smart materials among others.

The committee headed by former Gulbarga University Vice-Chancellor N Rudraiah, which submitted its report to Higher Education Minister Aravind Limbavali, has recommended that the newly-carved out Bangalore Central University be rechristened as Bangalore International University to celebrate the global status of the capital.

The committee has recommended that besides the regular courses, five-year integrated courses in nano-technology, smart technology, nuclear science and space technology be offered to students.

Demarcating line

The committee has recommended that Outer Ring Road (ORR) will be the main geographical demarcating line for the trifurcation of BU into Bangalore (North), Bangalore (South) and Bangalore (Central).

However, no time frame has been recommended for the trifurcation. Limbavali said he would place the recommendations before the Cabinet for early implementation.

Better management

The State government, last year, had constituted a 10-member committee to suggest ways and means for better management of 598 colleges coming under BU spread over Bangalore City, Bangalore Rural and Kolar districts.

The committee has banked on GIS mapping and taken assembly constituency wise jurisdiction before arriving at its recommendation on the trifurcation.

The committee has recommended BU be split along the geographical north and south of the Outer Ring Road (ORR). Colleges north of K R Puram outside the ORR will come under Bangalore North University, colleges south of ORR from Kengeri onwards will fall under Bangalore South University and the remaining colleges in Bangalore city will come under the jurisdiction of Bangalore Central University.

V-C sceptical

BU Vice-Chancellor N Prabhudeva said he would place the recommendations before the Academic Council, Syndicate and also the faculty for discussion.

However, he wondered how the government would fun d the setting up of the three universities and also provide the necessary staff.

Prabhudeva said the government was presently providing Rs 35 crore as grant which was not even sufficient to provide salaries to the staff.

Presently, Bangalore University was working on only 50 per cent of the sanctioned staff. “Trifurcation will only lead to decline in quality of education with a possibility that all the three Universities would lose their recognition from the UGC,” the vice-chancellor added.

North varsity

Total colleges: 199 Colleges

Jurisdiction: Marathahalli, K R Pura, Binnamangala, Whitefield, Jalahalli, Kammagondanahalli, Hesaraghatta, Vidyaranyapura, Yelahanka, Abbigere, Sarjapura, Malur, Varthur, Chikkaballandur, HSR Layout, Dooravaninagar, Old Madras Road, Chikkathammanahalli, Medahalli, Ramamurthynagar, Channasandra, Hoskote, Kolar, Sahakaranagar, Nagavara, Kempapura, Buvaneshwarinagar, Bommasandra, Devanahalli, Doddaballapur, Siddlaghatta, Chikaballapur district, Goudribidanur, Bagepalli, Hennur Road, Kalyananagar, OMBR Layout, HRBR Layout, Chikkabanavara, Kadusonapanahalli and Kolar district.

Campus: Hoskote (to be established)

South varsity

Total colleges: 196 Colleges

Jurisdiction: Rajarajeshwarinagar, Uttarahalli Road, Doddakallasandrahalli, Kengeri, Kumbalgod, Bydarayanapura, Bidadi, Channapatna, Jnanabharathi, Nagarabhavi, Magadi taluk, Sukkandakatte, Vijayanagar, Kamalanagar, Banashankari (I,II and III stages), Katriguppe, Kumaraswamy Layout, Padmanabhanagar, J P Nagar and Jayanagar, Konanakunte, BTM Layout, Bannerghatta Road, Bommasandra, Anekal, Chandrapura, Peenya Dasarahalli and Nelamangala
Campus: Jnanabharathi
campus (existing)

Central varsity

Total colleges: 203 Colleges

Jurisdiction: Lalbagh Road, Basavanagudi, Wilson Garden, Chamarajpet,
Hanumanthanagar, Vanivilas Road, R V Road, V V Puram, Mission Road, K R Road, Southend Circle, Narasimha Raja Colony,
Seppings Road, Nrupathunga Road, K R Circle, Race Course Road, Sheshadri Road, Palace Road, K G Road,
Basaveshwara Road, Rajajinagar, Nandini Layout, Mahalakshmi Layout, Yeshwanthpur, M S Ramaiahnagar, Mathikere, M G Road, Indiranagar,
Banasavadi, Koramangala, Kavalbyrasandra, Sultanpet,
R T Nagar, Cholanagara, Kanakanagar, Anandnagar, CMH Road, Dikenson Road, Shivajinagar, Queen’s Road, Malleswaram, Seshadripuram, Srirampuram, Sadashivanagar, Jayamahal, Vasanthnagar, Madhavanagar, Cubbonpet, JRD Tata Nagar, Richmond Town, Burton Road, Cariappa Road and Austin Town.

Campus:  Central college.
Additional land sought in Race Course (20 acre) and old jail premises (10 acres).

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)