Reshuffle in AICC ahead of assembly polls

Reshuffle in AICC ahead of assembly polls

Indicating that 'one-person-one-post' formula would be followed in the exercise, sources in the party said that changes will be brought in the organisation along with a reshuffle in work allocation in the AICC.

"It (changes) could be done during the ongoing Budget session of Parliament," a senior party leader said.

While Maharashtra will have assembly elections by October, Jharkhand and Haryana will go to polls by February next year. The organisational elections of the party are also scheduled to be completed by December, next year.

Almost one-and-a-half months ago, AICC General Secretary Janardan Dwivedi had said that "changes will be brought in the organisation soon," without indicating the dates.
The party indicated that effort will be made to see that those who work in the government concentrate on it and those who work in the party do organisational work.

Four AICC general secretaries were inducted into the Manmohan Singh Cabinet leaving a void in the organisation as these ministers hardly find time to concentrate on party work.
While general secretaries Ghulam Nabi Azad and Mukul Wasnik were inducted as cabinet ministers, Prithviraj Chavan was inducted as Minister of State with Independent charge and V Narayanasami as Minister of state.

Even after being made the Health Minister, Azad remains the party in-charge of Karnataka, Tamil Nadu, Puducherry and Orissa.

Union Minister for Social Justice and Empowerment, Wasnik, the Dalit leader from Maharashtra, is also the AICC General Secretary in-charge of Rajasthan and Delhi.
Similarly Chavan, MoS with independent charge, who is handling the PMO, Science and Technology, Earth Sciences, Personnel and Parliamentary Affairs remains the party in-charge of Haryana and Jammu and Kashmir.

Narayanasami, the party leader from Puducherry, is in-charge of Madhya Pradesh and Chhattisgarh and three Northeastern states. He also handles Planning and Parliamentary Affairs as MoS.

Apart from these four, Law Minister M Veerappa Moily also holds dual positions in the party and the government. He is the party in-charge of Andhra Pradesh and Assam.
Defence Minister A K Antony was given the charge of Maharashtra after Margaret Alva resigned as AICC general secretary last year.

He remains the in-charge of the state where selection of candidates for the assembly polls would begin in the next two months.

Some PCC presidents too are in the Cabinet.
Notably, Finance Minister Pranab Mukherjee was made the president of the West Bengal PCC last year. He still retains the post. C P Joshi is Union Minister for Rural Development apart from being the chief of Rajasthan PCC.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)