Amartya Sen on Infosys Award jury

Amartya Sen on Infosys Award jury

A release from the Foundation said the annual Infosys Prize of Rs 2.5 crore (Rs 50 lakh in each category) has been created to recognise accomplishments in pure and applied sciences research in India. Each jury comprises five members, including the jury chair.

For social science, Noble Laureate and Professor of Economics and Philosophy at Havard University, Bharat Ratna Prof Amartya Sen will chair the jury; for Engineering and Computer Sciences, Prof Subra Suresh, Dean of the School Of Engineering and Ford Professor of Engineering at Massachusetts Institute of Technology has been selected.

For Mathematical Science, Prof Srinivasa Varadhan, Professor of Mathematics and Frank J Gould, Professor of Science at the Courant Institute of Mathematical Sciences, New York University have been chosen.

The Jury chair in Life Science will have Prof Inder Verma of the American Cancer Society and Laboratory of Genetics-Salk Institute for Biological Studies.

The jury for Physical Science will be chaired by Prof Shrinivas Kulkarni, John D & Catherine T McArthur Professor of Astronomy and Planetary Sciences at the California Institute of Technology.

Nominations received by the jury will be evaluated against the backdrop of international research, the release said.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)