Opposition boycotts ZP first meet

Sources said the BJP members were upset that ZP president C Mariyappa constituted the committees without consulting them. During the protest, they said the president’s decision was unilateral.

The BJP, being the single largest party in the 34-member Council, insisted on selecting the party members as the heads of all standing committees, sources added.

Mariyappa, however, denied the charges against him stating the meeting was postponed due to unavoidable reasons. The ZP council would meet within a week, he added. The Congress-JD(S) combine is holding the reins of power with a total of 18 seats, while the BJP has 16 members. The president belongs to the Congress.

Narendra Modi or Rahul Gandhi? Who will win the battle royale of the Lok Sabha Elections 2019

Get real-time news updates, views and analysis on Lok Sabha Elections 2019 on Deccanherald.com/news/lok-sabha-elections-2019 

Like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter and Instagram with #DHPoliticalTheatre for live updates on the Indian general elections 2019.

Liked the story?

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0