Ganguly, Bedi to address ICC History Conference in Oxford

Leading administrators, academics, historians and statisticians will also gather to reflect on the past 100 years at the conference to be held on Wednesday and Thursday as part of the ICC's centenary celebrations.

"One of the key themes of the ICC's centenary year is tradition, to use 2009 as an opportunity to look back at the game's rich history. The history conference should be a fantastic occasion," ICC President David Morgan said in a statement.

Former ICC President Ehsan Mani and the organisation's first Chief Executive David Richards will come together to reflect upon the big issues they had to deal with during their times at the helm of the global game.

The ICC began as the Imperial Cricket Conference in 1909 with just three members -– Australia, England and South Africa.

A century later it has 104 members and its development over those 100 years will be charted by a host of experts including Sir Hilary Beckles, the Pro-Vice-Chancellor and Principal and Professor of Economic and Social History of the University of the West Indies and Brian Stoddart, the former Vice-Chancellor of La Trobe University, Australia.

Women's cricket past and present will be represented by former England captain Rachael Heyhoe-Flint, who lifted the inaugural women's World Cup in 1973, as well as current captain Charlotte Edwards and teammate Ebony Rainford-Brent, the latter duo part of the squad that holds the ICC Women's World Cup, Twenty20 World Cup and the Ashes.

Liked the story?

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0