Virajpet Town Panchayat Chief steps down

Vice-President and seven other members move no confidence motion

Virajpet Town Panchayat Chief steps down

Five JD(S) members and three Congress members of the Panchayat had submitted a letter to the Deputy Commissioner, moving the no-confidence motion against Belliappa, who has been in power for the past 17 months.

Belliappa resigned as the president after knowing that the Town Panchayat Vice President JD(S) member S H Mainuddin (who is in power since February 2008) too had signed the letter submitted to the DC.

The Virajpet Town Panchayat includes of six members of JD(S), four members of Congress and one Independent. Kanthi Belliappa had got the post of the President after Congress-JD(S) formed an alliance. The alliance maintained a good relation till recently.

However, there were some differences of opinion between the president and a few JD(S) members. Congress members thought of moving a no-confidence motion against the President making use of this opportunity. On the other hand, the BJP that is out of the alliance, is supporting No Confidence Motion  , and is trying to break the Congress-JD(S) alliance at any cost.

According to sources, there was an agreement between Kanthi Belliappa and Maria Sequeira on sharing the term of the president for 15 months each. But Belliappa did not step down from her post even after enjoying power for 15 months. On the other hand, even the party leaders did not mind this development.

 In this backdrop, it is said, Maria Sequeria is firm on occupying the chair and thus has rebelled. Further, there was an agreement between S H  Manuddin (JDS) and B K Chandru (Congress) on sharing the vice-president’s term for 10 and 20 months respectively.

But Chandru was silent over the issue since he had been given the post of the chairman of the Constructions Standing Committee.  However, as per the agreement, he should be allowed to ascend the post of the vice president.

Since Town Panchayats are getting Rs 15 crore grant from the government, many aspirants are competing for the president’s post.

But, in this case, Belliappa has support from party leaders M C Nanaiah, and C S Arun Machaiah of the Congress.

In this backdrop, now one should wait and see whether the party heads will convince the other competitors to remain calm and whether Kanthi Belliappa will withdraw her resignation.

According to sources, majority of the members in the Town Panchayat support the no-confidence motion.

Hence, it is curious to know that whether Kanthi Belliappa will continue in her post or not.
Belliappa has forwarded the resignation letter to the JD(S) high command.

But, MLC M C Nanaiah, JD(S) District President Shanthu Appaiah, M A Ramesh and K P Nagaraj are trying to solve the imbroglio.

Liked the story?

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0