'Amma,' 'Didi' to double number of women CMs

'Amma,' 'Didi' to double number of women CMs

So far, it is Bahujan Samaj Party chief Mayawati and Congress leader Sheila Dixit who have been holding the top seat of power in Utter Pradesh and National Capital region of Delhi respectively.

As the Trinamool Congress chief takes the charge of the West Bengal now, she will be the first woman chief minister of the state, which was ruled by the Left front for over 34 years.

Spectacular comeback

AIADMK chief J Jayalaitha, who is all set to become the chief minister of Tamil Nadu with her spectacular comeback, has ruled the state twice since 1991.

But it’s not in states alone where women are holding the top seats. While President Pratibha Patil is the First Woman of the country, Sonia Gandhi is the centre of the power being the chief of the ruling Congress party which leads the Centre.

Bharatiya Janata Party is in power in many states but it does not have a woman chief minister. Nevertheless, it too can boast of having a woman—Sushma Swaraj—as leader of Opposition in the Lok Sabha.

There have been 13 women chief ministers in the country since independence and Mamata Banerjee has just added to the figure by joining the select list.

Congress leader Sucheta Kripalani was the first woman to become the chief minister of any state. She ruled Uttar Pradesh from October 1963 to May 1967.