Karnataka Independent legislators left high and dry

Karnataka Independent legislators left high and dry

The 11 BJP law makers Sunday informed Governor H.R. Bhardwaj that they would support Yeddyurappa, three days after the Supreme Court restored their membership as well as those of the five Independents.

They also said they are taking back their October 2010 letter withdrawing support to Yeddyurappa, following which the 11 and the five Independents were disqualified.
The 11 BJP rebels claimed in New Delhi Sunday morning that the five Independents had also extended their support to Yeddyurappa.

However, the Independents, who were also in New Delhi for the Supreme Court verdict, told reporters later that they were taking a "neutral stand".

D. Sudhakar, Shivaraj Thangadagi, Goolihatti Shekar and Venkataramanappa said "they were Independents and remain so". The fifth Independent, P.M. Narendraswami, had returned to Bangalore from Delhi Saturday.

The four did not return to Bangalore along with the 10 BJP rebels who were in New Delhi. The Independents took a separate flight.

The five had helped BJP form its first government in Karnataka in May 2008 and were rewarded with cabinet berths.

The party had won 110 seats and needed three more for majority in the 225-member assembly that includes one nominated member.

With the return of the 11 rebels to its fold, the BJP does no longer need the Independents support as the party has 120 members, including the speaker. It also has the support of one Independent.