Governor refuses audience to rebel BJP MLAs

Governor refuses audience to rebel BJP MLAs

The MLAs, accompanied by a group of ministers, upon arrival from New Delhi were directly taken to Raj Bhavan to call on the governor.

The MLAs and ministers had to wait outside the Raj Bhavan for more than an hour as the security personnel did not allow them inside.

However, a group of ministers-- V Somanna, Umesh Katti, Murugesh Nirani, B N Bacchegowda, Govind Karjol and state's Special Represantative in Delhi V Dhananjayakumar, met the Governor to plead for an appointment to MLAs, which was not accepted by Bhardwaj.

Later speaking to reporters, Dhananjayakumar told reporters the Governor had expressed his inability to meet the delegation as it was a holiday and his office was not functioning.

Bhardwaj told the delegation that 'some of your leaders can come and meet me. I have already received by fax the letters sent by MLAs declaring their support to Yeddyurappa government. I have already accepted them," Dhananjayakumar said.

However, the delegation handed over individual letters signed by the 10 MLAs to the Governor, he said.

The MLAs whose letters were submitted included Balachandra Jarkiholi, V Nagaraju, Belur Gopalakrishna, Y Sampangi, Nanajundaswamy, Dr Bagali Sarwabouma, Raje Kage, S K Bellubbi, K Shivanagouda Naik and Anand Asnotikar.

However, H S Shankaralinge Gowda did not give such a letter.On May 13, the Supreme Court quashed Speaker K G Bopaiah order disqualifying eleven rebel BJP MLAs and also five Independents.

The BJP High Command had persuaded the rebels to continue their unconditional support to the government.

Eleven BJP MLAs and Five independents had submitted a letter to Bhardwaj on October six last year withdrawing support from the Yeddyurappa Government, an act culminating in their disqualification.

A full Bench of the Karnataka High Court had upheld the Speaker's order, which the Supreme Court set aside.