New directors for 6 medical colleges

New directors for 6 medical colleges

The tenure is for three years.

The governing council meeting, chaired by Medical Education Minister S A Ramdas in Bangalore, appointed Dr Vasantha Kamath as the director of Hubli Medical College. She is presently with Bangalore Medical College. The Minister said she topped the merit list among those who were considered for the post of directors.

Other new directors –– Mysore medical college (Dr K Geetha Avadhani), Mandya Medical College (Dr Gurushankar), Bangalore Medical College (Dr O S Siddappa), Bellary Medical College (Dr B Devanand) and Bidar Medical College (Dr B O Hanumanthappa).

He said Hassan college is yet to get a new director. It has been decided to issue a renotification calling for fresh applications for the director’s post.

Inquiry report

He said the governing council also decided to accept the inquiry report by Narayana, retired district judge on the irregularities in the Mandya Medical College, and by Khaja Nazaruddin into Mysore Medical College. Action will be taken as recommended in these two reports.

Ramdas said there is severe shortage of staff in the Mandya college. The director of the governing council and the deputy commissioner have been authorised to conduct walk-in interviews.