Shinde in main draw

In qualifying matches, Sumeet Shinde played out a entertaining match against Suraj R Prabodh before winning 6-3, 2-6, 7-6 (7-3) while Sudanwa Sitaram enjoyed an easier match en route to the main draw with a straight-set 6-0, 6-0 win over Pradeep Deswal.

In the main draw, top seed and National champion Ranjeet Virali Murugesan, who returned from Germany on Sunday, will only take to the court on Tuesday when he faces unseeded Kunal Anand.

In Monday’s main draw action, second-seeded Rohan Gajjar, who missed most of last season due to injuries, will take on Ajai Selvaraj.

Results (final round of qualifying): Elwin Antony bt Rajat Maheshwari 6-4, 7-5; Ankit Sachdeva bt Abhaya Prakash 6-3, 6-4; Tejesvi Rao bt Pukit Mishra 6-1, 6-4; Shanatanu Rajput bt Yash Deshmukh 6-2, 6-2; Sumit Shinde bt Suraj R Prabodh 6-3, 2-6, 7-6 (8-3); Gagan Verma bt Neeraj Elango 6-0, 6-2; Sudanwa Sitaram bt Pradeep Deswal 6-0, 6-0; Vikram Reddy bt Kamal Suresh Kumar 6-2, 6-1.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)