58 villages to be revived under 'Bhoo Chetana'

Scheme aims at increasing paddy, maize production by 20 pc

The state government had implemented the scheme two years back in the state. After witnessing huge success, it has decided to extend the scheme to all the districts. The programme is being implemented with the help of Icrisat of Hyderabad, in association with the watershed department, Agriculture University and the Agriculture department.
The scheme aims at increasing the production of paddy and maize by 20 per cent, said an official from the agriculture department.

The 58 villages which have been included in the scheme include 13 villages in Madikeri taluk, 26 in Somwarpet taluk and 19 in Virajpet taluk. Bhoo Chetana lays emphasis on incorporating micro-nutrients in the soil based on soil testing, encouraging mixed cropping and comprehensive pest control methods.Under this scheme farmers can avail sowing seeds at 50 per cent discount. Farmers can also avail micro-nutrients for crops like gypsum, borax and others.  The official said the soil has already been collected in the taluks and has been sent to the soil testing centres at Mandya and Koodige. Measures have been taken to supply 100 tonne lime, 40 tonne zinc sulphate, 9.96 tonne borax and 28.5 tonne organic manure to the farmers.

In 2009-10, the scheme was implemented in four districts. As a result, the yield had been increased from 32 per cent to 65 per cent. As many as 1,440 villages with two lakh farmers were benefited from the scheme.  In 2010-11, the scheme was implemented in 16 districts. The yield increased from 25 per cent to 40 per cent. As many as 5,030 farmers benefited from the scheme, said the officials.

The list of villages which have been included in the scheme are—Madikeri taluk—Maragodu (Kattemadu), Hoskeri (Arekadu), Kantharu Moornadu (M Badaga), Makkandoor (Mukkodlu), Napoklu (Bethu), Ballamavati (Nelaji, Peroor), Kaggodlu (Biligeri), Maekeri (Hakathur), Made, Katakeri, Bettageri (Aruvathokkalu), Heravanadu and Thavoor (Korangala).

Somwarpet taluk—Ganagur, Yalakanoor, Masagodu, Adinadoor, Thakeri, Kiragandoor, Yadavanadu, Yadur, Kalkandoor, Soorlabi, Garvale, Chettali, Nellihudikeri, Nanjarayapattana, Guddehosur, Koodige, Nidtha, Gopalapura, Shivaralli, Avaredalu, Huluse, Shanthalli, Thalthareshettalli, Kumaralli, Tholor Shettalli and Dodda Tholoor.

Virajpet taluk—Kannangala, Hosur, Kirugoor, Hudoor, Thithimathi, Kanoor, Nittur, Devanoor, Ponnappasanthe, Kadangamaroor, Palangala, Betoli, Maithadi, Nemmale, K Badaga, Harihara, Porad, Hudikeri and Haisodlur.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)