Beerappa will head Malur APMC

Another BJP candidate T V Nanjundappa won the vice-president’s post with nine votes by defeating Cong-JD(S) candidate Jeevikumar.

Of the total 13 constituencies of the APMC, Congress and JD(S) have won seven seats and BJP has secured six seats.

Besides, with three nominated directors, the total strength of APMC is 16 members.

New yard for market
Addressing press meet, the newly-elected president Beerappa said since there is no proper market system in the APMC, a yard will be built in the APMC premises. Considering the huge production of vegetables and fruits in the taluk, farmers have no proper system to sell them, he said. He further said that he would shift the APMC office to check unnecessary expenditure. He promised to take everyone into confidence and strive for the welfare of the farming community here.

Tahsildar H Amaresh was the Returning Office. APMC secretary Kumar and circle inspector Keshavamurthy were present.

BJP workers, on the occasion, burst crackers and distributed sweets to celebrate the victory of their candidates. They also offered prayers at the Marikamba temple.
Zilla Panchayat president Manjula Venkatesh, members Ramaswami Reddy, Yallamma, Taluk Panchayat president Parvathamma and others were present.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get the top news in your inbox
Comments (+)