India to play maximum Tests against till 2020

India are scheduled to visit Australia later this year for a four-Test series, starting with Boxing day Test on December 26 in Melbourne. India are also set to play 18 Tests against England and 12 matches each against South Africa, New Zealand and Sri Lanka during this period, as per the Future Tours Programme chalked out by the International Cricket Council.

Overall, the country would play 95 Tests, beginning from the three-match home rubber against the West Indies this October-November through April, 2020.

In the same period, India would cross swords with arch-rivals Pakistan in only three Tests, all scheduled at home in March-April 2012, while taking on Zimbabwe and Bangladesh in one two-match rubber each, both away from home.

The time frame also includes the conduct of the World Test Play-Off Championship in England in May-June 2013. India would also be playing 170 bilateral or triangular one-day internationals during this phase besides 31 bilateral T20 internationals, as per the ICC FTP.

There would be more ODIs and T20Is featuring India within this period that includes the organisation of two ICC World Cups - in February-March, 2015 in Australia and New Zealand and in June-July, 2019 in England - and 3 World T20 championships - September-October, 2012 in Sri Lanka, April 2014 in Bangladesh and March-April, 2016 in India.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get the top news in your inbox
Comments (+)