Antonio in joint lead

Antonio in joint lead

Shristi J Shetty

Antonio, second seed Niranjan Navalgund and Ninad V Prabhu Khanolkar, both from Belgaum, Kedar Umesh Vaze, Shreeshan S and Rakshith Umesh, all three from Shimoga, share the top slot after six round of matches.

Antonio and Niranjan signed truce in the 25th move while Shreeshan and Kedar agreed for a draw in a short time.  In the girls section, Commonwealth under-14 silver medalist, Shristi J Shetty of Shimoga eased out team-mate Akshatha R in 27 moves to move into joint lead with five points. Shristi,  Nisha N Patkar, Gangamma B N of Mysore, Shalon Joanne Pais of Mangalore and Swathi M R of Tumkur share the top slot with two points after two rounds of matches.

DH News Service

Important results:

 Boys (round 6): Antonio Viani D'cunha (Man, 5) drew with Niranjan Navalgund (Bel, 5); Kedar Umesh Vaze (Shi, 5) drew with Shreeshan S (Shi, 5); Vivekananda L (Mys, 4) lt to Rakshith R Umesh (Shi, 5); Akash K Shetty (Chik, 4) lt to Ninad V Prabhu Khanolkar (Bel, 5); Sameer Kulkarni (Bel, 4.5) bt Silambarasan J (Bel, 3.5); Vedant Patil P (Bel, 4) drew with Chirag M Ramesh (Mys, 3.5); Gautam M D (Has, 4.5) bt Akshay V Halagannavar (Dha, 3); Rohit Kumar (Bel, 3) lt to Benadikar Shashank D (Bel, 4); Akash Kulgod (Bel, 3.5) drew with Sumanth Jois (Shi, 3.5); Vishwanath R Shirahatti (Dha, 3) lt to Anant Prakash Sharma (Bel, 4).

Girls (round 2): Shristi J Shetty (Shi, 2) bt Akshatha R (Shi, 1); Ayesha S K (Bell, 1) lt to Nisha N Patkar (Shi, 2); Gangamma B N (Mys, 2) bt Deeksha M R (Mys, 1); Manasa H R (Mys, 1) lt to Shalon Joanne Pais (Man, 2); Lenita Mathais (Man, 1) lt to Swathi M R (Tum, 2).

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily