Hassan: Elections to 5 GPs today

The gram panchayats that are going into polls are Hanumanthapura, Ambuga, Ankapura, Kattaya and Channangihalli.

Out of 16 constituencies in Hanumanthapura, seven seats have been unanimously elected. Polls are being held for the remaining nine posts.  In Ankapura, four constituencies out of 16 has been elected unanimously. One out of 16 has been elected unanimously in Kattaya. Elections are held for all the 13 constituencies at Channangihalli.

In all, out of 69 constituencies, elections are being held for 57 and 147 candidates are in the fray. Ninteen candidates in Hanumanthapura, 27 in Ambuga, 28 in Ankapura, 39 in Kattaya and 34 in Channangihall gram panchayat are contesting the elections. Out of 35 polling booths that are being set up, polling will be held at 31 booths on Sunday.

About 124 staff members and four staff for each booth are being deployed on duty. Elections will be held between 7 am and 5 pm. Nineteen polling booths have been declared sensitive and seven booths are identified as very sensitive. Counting will be held on August 30 at tahsildar office premises from 8 am, he added.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get the top news in your inbox
Comments (+)