Cabinet approves expanding OBC list

It is learnt that the National Commission for Backward Classes (NCBC)  had recommended amending the OBC list through inclusion of more than 70 castes in around 20 states and UTs including poll- bound Uttarakhand and Goa, where elections are due next year.

A government statement, however, did not give details. It said the Union Ministry of Social Justice & Empowerment would make amendments in the Central lists of OBCs in respect of these States and UTs. The new list belongs to: Andhra Pradesh, Assam, Bihar, Chhattisgarh, Goa, Himachal Pradesh, Jharkhand, Karnataka, Kerala, Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra, Orissa, Sikkim, Tamil Nadu, Uttarakhand and West Bengal, Andaman and Nicobar, Chandigarh, Delhi and Puducherry.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)