Rahul, Ashwini crowned champions

Rahul, Ashwini crowned champions

Devika sends top seed Poorvisha packing in girls under-16 pre-quarterfinals

Neither player had to break sweat in the title round. While Rahul cruised past Nakul N Rao 21-7, 21-9, Ashwini had to work only slightly hard to quell UK Mithula’s challenge at 21-13, 21-14. Ashwini, however, ran out of steam in the under-13 section, going down 25-27, 18-21 in a hard-fought quarterfinal clash to MS Chinmayi.

The big shock of the day came in the girls’ under-16 pre-quarterfinal, when 15th seed Devika Ravindra sent the top-seeded Poorvisha S Ram packing in straight games. Devika won 21-14, 21-19 to advance to the last eight. However, Anisha D Karumbaiah and Sindhu Bharadwaj had no such qualms in beating their respective rivals in the last 32 matches. Anisha cruised past Nivya Uday 21-14, 21-19 and Sindhu scored a comprehensive 21-11, 21-8 victory over Mahima Aggarwal to book their last eight berths. Anagha Unni also made it to quarters beating Meghana Kulkarni 21-7, 21-8.

Results: Boys: Under-10, final: BM Rahul bt Nakul N Rao 21-7, 21-9.

Under-13, pre-quarters: Mithun Manjunath bt Syed Saad Ali 21-11, 21-9; Anish Upadhye bt Abhishek R 21-9, 21-18; Vasishta Suresh bt Likhith A 21-18, 21-16; S Farid bt Vishal R Bhat 21-5, 21-15; Ashik R w/o M Raghu; Sahil Sipani bt Sreepoorna Purohit 21-7, 21-4; BR Sankeerth bt Yash Lad 21-10, 12-21, 21-16; Sudeep Suresh bt Pranjal Patil 21-13, 21-15.

Girls: Under-10, final: K Ashwini Bhat bt UK Mithula 21-13, 21-14.

Under-13, quarters: Monisha A Gowda bt Apeksha Nayak 21-13, 21-12; Aashi Gupta bt Chinmayi Venkatesh 21-12, 21-10; Mahima Aggarwal bt Naganetra Reddy 21-11, 21-9; Chinmayi MS bt K Ashwini Bhat 27-25, 21-18.

Under-16, pre-quarters: Devika Ravindra bt Poorvisha S Ram 21-14, 21-19; Anisha D Karumbaiah bt Nivya Uday 21-9, 21-17; Sangeetha Udupa bt Apoorva C 21-5, 21-1; Vaishnavi Iyer bt Syeda Sadhath A 21-12, 21-9; Priya Prakash bt Inchara 21-19, 21-19; Sindhu Bharadwaj bt Mahima Aggarwal 21-11, 21-8; Anagha Unni bt Meghana Kulkarni 21-7, 21-18; Reshma Karthik bt Naganetra Reddy 21-11, 21-10.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily