Get set for the big league

Get set for the big league

Gala event

They may have lost the last season of ‘Celebrity Cricket League’ (CCL) but this year the ‘Karnataka Bulldozers’ (KB) are all set to take the game by the horns.

Launching the team and the official calender in a City hotel, Sudeep, the captain and the Ashok Khenny, the owner of the team, assured the fans that the cup is coming home this year.

From a gruelling selection round to heavy practice sessions, ‘KB’ is leaving no stone unturned. Khenny said that they have even organised morning yoga classes to maintain their physical and mental balance. Despite injuring his hand while practicing, Sudeep said that nothing is going to stop him from playing.

“This injury is proof enough that we have been working very hard. People may think this is a great combination of glamour, entertainment and cricket but for us this is serious cricket,” he added.

The event began with a small laser show introducing each of the players. This was followed by all the boys in the team walking the ramp. Cheering them on at the sidelines were actresses Saroja Devi, Tara, Madhuri Bhattacharya, Aindrita Ray, Harshika Poonachcha, Tejaswini, Tamanna and others. “I have been supporting the team ever since its launch and this year is extra special as I am one of the team’s ambassador. I have full confidence that it will win,” said Aindrita.

The biggest change this year is the absence of Shivarajkumar, who was the star player last season. He has been replaced by ‘Challenging Star’ Darshan.
“I was supposed to play last year but since I couldn’t manage my dates I couldn’t make it. This year I made sure I kept myself free and be a part of the team,” said Darshan.
Apart from that the team remains the same as last year with two new additions – Vishwas and Bhuvan – joining the team as well. Former cricketer G R Vishwanath, who is the team selector, said, “It was a difficult task to select the team this year as there is so much hidden talent among these actors. Out of the 73 artistes who approached to take part, we have narrowed down to 16 players.”

The league match will kickstart in Sharjah on January 12 and then will come down to India and will be played in Chennai, Kolkata, Mumbai, and Bangalore. On February 12, Hyderabad will host the finals. However, there is a Sankranthi treat for Bangaloreans, as the ‘Karnataka Bulldozers’ will play two matches on their home ground on January 15.