BGS decennial celebrations from August 30

BGS decennial celebrations from August 30

Speaking at a press meet organised at the school on Wednesday, Honourary President and Treasurer of the Trust Sri Dharmapalanatha Swamiji informed that renowned artistes M S Narasimha Murthy, Mysore Anand, Richard Louis and B Pranesh Gangavati will be performing on the occasion.

The programme that begins at 5.30 pm will be presided over by Minister for Ports and Inland Water Transports Krishna J Palemar and will be blessed by Sri Dharmapalanatha Swamiji. MP Nalin Kumar Kateel will be the chief guest on the occasion and Correspondent of Jnanaganga Central School, Bellare, M P Umesh will be the guest of honour.

As many as 10 eminent persons from various walks of life will be felicitated on the occasion. They are, Kasturi (music), Geetha Montadka (drama), Hajabba (social service), Prabhakar Neerumarga (literature), Harsha (media), Anand Bedrala (arts), Suneetha Jayanth (dance), Venkatesh Mayya (Yakshagana), Nagesh A (sports) and Dr John T Ramapuram (medicine).

Other programmes

As part of the ongoing decennial celebrations, there will be an orchestra by wellknown singer A Ashwath named ‘BGS Rasasanje’ on October 4. On October 14, there will be a felicitation programme of meritorious students and the parents will present cultural programmes on the occasion. On November 9, there will be a science seminar for the CBSE and ICSE students from Dakshina Kannada and Udupi districts and for the State syllabus students within city limits. The valedictory of the celebrations will be held on December 19, when a souvenir titled ‘Girirashmi’ will be released.

Other plans

Sri Dharmapalanatha Swamiji informed that there are plans to construct an indoor recreation facility for the students during this decennial year and a science PU wing is under consideration. Earlier, he released the new logo for the decennial celebrations.
Principal Shreelatha Rao, President of the Decennial Committee Sathish Kallimar, Joint Secretary Swarnalatha, Headmaster of B G S High School Prakash and the Committee members were present at the press meet.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily