No takers for 12 gold medals

No takers for 12 gold medals

The University of Mysore has no candidates  for gold medals in12 categories.

There are no eligible candidates for awards in MA Philosophy, Bachelor of Performing Arts (BPA), BSc in Geology, to be given during the 92nd convocation of the varsity scheduled for April 7. Similarly, there are no students for eight cash awards in BA and BPA courses. According to the list posted on the website of the university, there are ‘no candidates’ for 12 gold medals.

C Sethubai Gold Medal (women) in MA Philosophy, Ravi Artists’ Gold Medal, Chaithra Gold Medal, Rajkumar Sanmana Samithi Gold Medal, Coondapur Venkataramana Deva Gold Medal, Keshav Subbarayan Gold Medal, Ammaiah Ramaswamaiah of Mayasandra Gold Medal and Murthy’s Gold Medal for Excellence, Gold Medal in Bachelor of Performing Arts are a few of the endowments for which there are no deserving candidates.

Also, Savithramma Memorial Gold Medal, Krishnabai Gundopath Gold Medal, Sumathi Srinivasan Commemoration Gold Medal and Hanumappa Gold Medal for BSc have no candidates.

For cash prizes awarded, Prof M Hiriyanna Memorial Award and Prof C K Renukarya Felicitation cash prize for BA courses, Yamunabai Memorial cash prize (BPA), Late Sharadamma Endowment Award (BPA-Dance), Catholic Diocese of Mysore Award (BPA-Dance), Keshav Subbarayan Award (BPA-Dance), Subbanna Memorial Award (BPA-Drama), Sahasramukhi Raghavendrarao and Nagarathna Cash Prize (BPA-Dramatics) have no candidates this year.

Registrar (Evaluation) B Ramu told Deccan Herald if donors decide to give the awards in other subjects, then a decision would be taken after discussing it in the Syndicate.