Indian MPs beat British MPs in Twenty20

Indian MPs beat British MPs in Twenty20

A century by former India captain Mohammad Azharuddin and four wickets for 27 runs by skipper Anurag Thakur helped Indian Parliamentarians to score a 56 runs win over British Parliamentarians in a friendly Twenty20 match played at the Himachal Pradesh Cricket Association (HPPCA) Stadium here Friday.

Batting first, the Indian MPs scored 226 for four. Azharuddin scored 100 (retired) in 46 balls with two sixes and 17 fours.

Kuldeep Singh Bishnoi scored 54, while HPCA president Anurag Thakur 22 in 12 balls. Other parliamentarians who played were Dushayant Singh, Kailash Singh Deo and G. Vivekanand.

Britain skipper Matthew Hancock was the most successful bowler, taking two wickets for 40 runs in four overs.

Chasing a stiff target, opener Lord Faulks scored 30-ball 31 while A.Jackman hit 37 runs with five boundaries.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)