Brigadiers on the march against Panthers

Brigadiers on the march against Panthers

Much was expected from a Panthers batting line-up that included Manish Pandey and J Arun Kumar, but managed only a paltry 92. The Brigadiers braved the early loss of Robin Uthappa to hunt down the target with ease.

When Arun and Shyam Ponnappa took the score to 15, a steady Panthers progress beckoned but turbulence soon followed. Arun’s dismissal by pacer Dileep Sagar triggered a constant fall of wickets.

Then M Vinod picked up four wickets with his dibbly-dobbly medium-pace, while Brigadiers skipper Deepak Chougoule picked up the prized wicket of birthday boy Pandey. The Brigadiers' reply began shakily as they lost Uthappa in the first over but KL Rahul and Vinod added 56 for the third wicket.

Score board

BELAGAVI PANTHERS: J Arun Kumar c Vinod b Dileep 13, Shyam Ponnappa c Mansur b Vinod 11, Manish Pandey c Vinu b Chougule 18, Vinay Uthappa lbw Vinu 6, KST Sai c&b Vinu 0, Ashwin Punja (run out) 9, R Vinay Kumar c Chougoule b Vinod 14, Stalin Hoover b Mansur 7, P Yogesh b Vinod 2, David Johnson lbw Vinod 1, Santosh Vadeyaraj (not out) 5. Extras (LB-5, W-1) 6. Total (all out, 19 overs) 92.
Fall of wickets: 1-15, 2-33, 3-45, 4-45 5-57, 6-64, 7-81, 8-84, 9-87.
Bowling: Dileep Sagar 2-0-10-1, Mansur Ali Khan 4-0-20-1, David Mathias 2-0-11-0, M Vinod 4-0-16-4, Vinu Prasad 4-0-11-2, Deepak Chougule 3-0-19-1.
BANGALORE BRIGADIERS: Robin Uthappa c Punja b Vinay 0, KL Rahul c Yogesh b Vinay 29, S Vinod st Uthappa b Johnson 11, M Vinod (not out) 36, Deepak Chougoule (not out) 11. Extras (LB-1, W-7, NB-1) 9. Total (for 3 wkts, 16.1 overs) 96.
Fall of wickets: 1-0, 2-22, 3-77.
Bowling: R Vinay Kumar 4-0-13-2, David Johnson 3-0-18-1, S Vadeyaraj 3.1-0-20-0, A Punja 2-0-15-0, Stalin Hoover 1-0-6-0, P Yogesh 3-0-23-0.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily