Nine convicted for Coimbatore blast released

Nine convicted for Coimbatore blast released

The convicts, members of outlawed Al-Umma, were sentenced to 13 years in jail by a special court for carrying out the blasts during the visit of BJP leader L K Advani for electioneering in 1998, jail authorities said.

The state government has ordered release of ten convicts, who have completed ten years of imprisonment.

However, only nine -- Mohammed Ibrahim, Abdul Rahim, Abdul Faooq, Abbas, Mohammed Rafeek, Abdul Raub, Ashraff, Bakruddin Ali Ahmed and Shahul Hameed -- were released today.

Shahjahan was not released as he is facing trial in other cases, the authorities said.
Nineteen bombs went off at different places here, including one at Advani's meeting venue, on February 14, 1998.

166 persons were arrested in connection with the blasts.

The Special Court had sentenced 57 persons for various terms, including life, under various sections of IPC and Explosives Act and Arms Act.