32 hockey players named for central contracts

Hockey India (HI) Friday announced a list of 32 senior men core probables who will be awarded with central contracts for the 2012-13 season.

The 32, from a group of 48, were selected after June 6-7 trials at the Balewadi Sports Complex in Pune.

It was attended by HI selectors Balbir Singh and B.P. Govinda along with chief coach Michael Nobbs, physiologist David John and government observer Harbinder Singh.

HI is yet to decide the amount to give the men and women players.

Goalkeepers: Bharat Chetri, Sreejesh P R, P.T. RaoDefenders: V.R. Raghunath, Ignace Tirkey, Sandeep Singh, Rupinder Pal Singh, Harbir Singh
Midfielders: Sardar Singh, Kothajit Singh, Gurbaj Singh, Birendra Lakra, Manpreet Singh, M.B. Aiyappa, Bipin Karketta, Pardeep Mor and Gurmail Singh
Forwards: S.V. Sunil, Gurvinder Singh Chandi, Sarvanjit Singh, Chinglensana Singh, Shivendra Singh, Danish Mujtaba, Tushar Khandker, S.K. Uthappa, Pradhanna Sommanna, Nithin Thimmaiah, Yuvraj Walmiki, Dharamvir Singh, Akashdeep Singh, M.G.Poonacha and

Comments (+)