Cancel registration of vehicles used for crime : IGP

Cancel registration of vehicles used for crime : IGP

Smart card to replace DLs and RC books in Dakshina Kannada

Speaking after inaugurating a programme of issuing of smart card for driving licenses and vehicle registration certificate here in Mangalore RTO office on Wednesday, he said “Dakshina Kannada district is tagged as communally sensitive district. Interestingly, 99 per cent of the population is peace loving. Only one per cent of the people is involved in inciting communal violence. Public, politicians, media, police should join hands with each other in bringing these one per cent of trouble makers to the court of law.”

He said Dakshina  Kannada district has more than 2 lakh vehicles. The density of vehicles is  more in Mangalore city. Traffic rules must be effectively implemented. There is a need to think of ways for the effective management of traffic.

The Mangalore City Corporation, police, RTO should convene a meeting of the public and discuss on the traffic management.

Joint Commissioner (Enforcement) Vijaya Vikram said initially, smart cards will be issued for those applying for DL for the first time and newly registered vehicles including second hands.

Those who already have DL and RC will be given two years time to replace their existing computer image card of DL and RC with smart cards.

The Transport Department will start issuing smart cards (It has a microprocessor based chip 16-kb RAM embedded on a plastic card to replace the existing driving licenses and vehicle registration booklets) at all 55 Road Transport Authority (RTA) offices in the State. By September end, the smart card distribution will begin at all RTAs in the State.

The project is already launched in 15 RTOs of the State including 10 RTOs at Bangalore, Dharwad, Belgaum, Shimoga, Mysore and Gulbarga.  The project will cover 82 lakh vehicles and 90 lakh vehicle users in the State. A total of 2.71 lakh vehicles have been registered in Mangalore RTO while 3.69 lakh DLs have been issued.

SP Dr A S Rao, Additional DC Prabhakar Sharma and RTO Purushotham J and others were present.

DH News Service

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily