5-year term for chiefs of co-operative societies

The government was contemplating amending the Karnataka State Cooperative Societies Act, 1959, to extend the tenure of the elected chairpersons of cooperative societies for a fixed term of five years.

Speaking to reporters on Tuesday, Cooperation Minister B J Puttaswamy said the government would table the amendment bill during the winter session of the legislature. At present, the tenure of the chairpersons of cooperative societies is two and a half years.
The law will also be amended to keep the maximum number of directors of a cooperative society at 21, he said.


A joint director of the cooperative department has been directed to submit a report within the next few days on the alleged irregularities in the purchase of oilseeds by the Karnataka Milk Federatio, the minister said.

Comments (+)