Peace committee for Rakabganj Gurdwara

In the wake of clash between two groups recently at Rakabganj Gurdwara here, various Sikh organisations on Wednesday announced forming a peace committee of eminent Sikhs and representatives of the factions involved.

The main purpose of this committee is to maintain peace, especially in view of nagar kirtan and Gurpurab celebrations later this month.

Announcing formation of the five-member peace committee, its convener H S Phoolka said the panel will also have two members each from Sarna and Badal groups, which had clashed on the gurdwara premises on November 15.

The committee has also appealed to the people to inform it in case of any information about likelihood of any violence so that it takes remedial steps to avoid it.

A nagar kirtan is planned in the Gurdwara on November 24 and 27 and during the big congregation on both the Gurpurabs of Guru Tegh Bahadur and Guru Nanak Dev on November 25 and 28.

The committee members include Sikh scholar and former Director of PGI Chandigarh J S Neki, noted writer Ajeet Caur, former CBI Director Joginder Singh, IGNOU professor of political science Amarjit Singh Narang and senior advocate of Supreme Court H S Phoolka. The two nominees of Sarna Group in the committee are Bhajan Singh Walia and Tarsem Singh, while the nominees of the Badal Group are Manjinder Singh Sirsa and Harmeet Singh Kalkaji.

The committee has also decided to hold a candlelight vigil at the spot of the violence in Gurdwara Rakab Ganj on November 23 at 5 pm. The committee, formed after a meeting of various Sikh organisations led by Sikh Forum has started working and interacting with both the groups.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)