Hurdles gold for Abraham

Hurdles gold for Abraham

Railways athlete breaks 11-year-old meet record

VS Surekha of Railways sails to the pole vault gold in National Athletic Championship on Thursday. PTI

Railways’s Abraham broke Sahib Singh’s 11-year-old meet record of 50.43 seconds, clocking 50.26. But the time was way outside his national record of 49.51 which he set in 2007.

“I’m very happy to have beaten the meet record,” said Abraham, “I am really in good shape and I know that I have to give at least my personal best to win the gold at the Asian Championships (in November),” he added.  

His teammates Avin A Thomas and Satinder Singh won the silver and bronze medals respectively.

V S Surekha of Railways also established a meet record in the women's pole vault, bettering her own record of 3.95 metres with a leap of 4.00 metres. Surekha tried to break her national record of 4.08 metres but failed three times at 4.10.

Surekha’s husband Renjith M, who has been struggling for form of late, bounced back with a 16.68M leap to win the triple jump. His effort bettered the meet mark of 16.53 set by Amarjeet Singh in 2007. Amarjeet won the silver this time with a 16.22M effort.

Results: Men: 400M hurdles: Joseph G Abraham (Railways) 50.26 seconds, 1; Avin A Thomas (Railways) 50.70, 2; Satinder Singh (Railways) 51.52, 3.
3000M Steeplechase: Elam Singh (Services) 8:53.26, 1; Om Prakash (Services) 8:53.56, 2; Jal Bir Singh (Services) 9:06.11, 3.
TripleJump: Renjith M (Railways) 16.68 metres, 1; Amarjeet Singh (Railways) 16.22, 2; Saurabh Singh (Police) 15.37, 3.
Hammer Throw: Madhu Kumar (Railways) 63.14 metres, 1; Harvinder Singh Dagar (UP) 62.22, 2; Nirbhay Singh (Services) 61.46, 3.
Women: 400M: Manjit Kaur (Punjab) 53.62 seconds, 1; Tintu Luka (Kerala) 54.15, 2; K Soujanya (AP) 54.54, 3. 400M hurdles: Harpreet Kaur (Railways) 1:00.56 minutes, 1; Darshana MS (Kerala) 1:01.38, 2; Shiji John C (Railways) 1:01.61, 3.
3000M Steeplechase: Kiran Tiwari (Railways) 10::39:04, 1; Remeswari MV (Kerala) 11::39:84, 2; Wahida Rehman (Police) 12::01:36, 3.
High jump: Kavya Muthanna (Jharkhand) 1.75 metres, 1; KC Chandana (Karnataka) 1.70, 2. Sahana Kumari (Railways) 1.70, 3. Pole Vault: VS Surekha (Railways) 4.00 metres, 1; Madhusini Devi (Railways) 3.50, 2; Tapsi Nandi (Railways) 3.30, 3.
20000M walk: Rani Yadav (UP) 1::44:37, 1; Sandhya KJ (Police) 1::45:08, 2; L Deepmala Devi (Railways) 1::48:12, 3.