Prajavani Deepavali contest winners

Prajavani Deepavali contest winners

A Deepavali special issue was also released on the occasion.

The chief guest for the occasion, litterateur Chandrashekar Kambar honoured the winners.
The following are the winners in various categories:

Story section: First place: N C Mahesh; Second: B Srinivas; Third: TS Goravara Story section (students): H N Srilakshmi Iyengar.

Poetry section

Poetry:  First: Mahadeva Shankanapura 2. Channappa Angadi Bammanahalli 3. Shivaraja Bettadur.
The contest for Photography is a new section introduced this year.

The winners are: 1. K S Rajaram 2. K Shivu 3. V D Bhatt Sugavi. The consolation prize was awarded to M J Deepika.

 Five children were also awarded for their paintings: 1. Vinutha Prakash Nayak 2. Akasha Hiremath 3. P V Chirag 4. Nikita Joshua 5. Basava Prabhu Srishaila Pujari.

Newer styles

Addressing the gathering, Chandrashekhar Kambar said new writers in Kannada had started writing in newer styles. This, he said, was a positive trend which inspired confidence in Kannada literature.

Kambar said the young writers had immense faith in their works, and the writings reflected even the small changes in society.

Lauding Prajavani’s contribution to the society, he said the newspaper consistently provided editorial space for debates on current issues. Editor of Prajavani K N Shanth Kumar and Associate editor, Padmaraj Dandavati took part.