MCC: It's hung verdict again

Cong 22; JD(S) 20; BJP 12; KJP & BSR Cong 1 each, SDPI 2, Ind 7
Last Updated 11 March 2013, 18:30 IST

In the elections held to 65 wards of Mysore City Corporation (MCC) on March 7, Congress has emerged in the lead with 22 seats.

However, it is a fractured mandate again with none of the parties touching the majority mark of 33 seats, to hold the reins of the corporation on its own.

After the counting of votes concluded on Monday, Congress had maintained its 2007 status quo retaining 22 seats. The JD(S) has improved its tally winning 20 seats -- two more than the previous elections.

It is however a set back for the BJP which has managed to win only 12 seats -- six short of the total strength of the corporators the party had in the previous council. The new council will also have seven Independents and two candidates from Socialist Democratic Party of India (SDPI).

Among 42 sitting corporators in the fray, the JD(S) had fielded 16 corporators. Among them nine could make a comeback. They are - R Kempanna (13), K V Mallesh (18), R Lingappa (20), Mahadevappa (25), M Shivanna (26), K T Chaluvegowda (27), C Mahadesh (32), M J Ravikumar (35) and Satish (Sandesh Swamy) (62).

Repeat victors

Eleven corporators from both Congress and BJP had put their might to test again. Of these, six corporators from Congress and seven from BJP succeeded in making a come back.

The ones who have won from Congress are -- Rathnamma Shantaveerendra Swamy (five), R Purushotham (seven), Pushpalatha T B Chikkanna (24), Ayub Khan (52), Ayaz Pasha (Pandu) (54) and R Ananthu (58). From BJP it is Shivakumar (two), M V Ramprasad (six), M K Shankar (16), H S Nandeesh Preetham (21), T Girish Prasad (31), Mahadevamma (63) and G H Vanita (65).

Of the two sitting corporators who had taken the plunge on a KJP ticket, only one - B L Bhyrappa from ward 12 could open an account from the fledgling party, while another sitting corporator Sunanda Phalanetra lost from ward 15.

R Raveendra who had won the previous election (by-election in 2011) on a Congress ticket from ward 41 and had remained in the fray this time too, has won, but as an independent. Another independent nominee was H N Srikantaiah who won for a record fourth time from ward 60.

Significant losers

Prominent among the losers are: Congress’ P Devaraj (57), P Shanthunesan (44), Aftab Baig (53),  P R Parvathi (30) and Sajida Bi (59); JD(S)’s T Devaraj (34), Prabhumurthy (nine), Sharadamma (64), S M Nandakumar (43) and Khamruddin (45); BJP’s A V Vidya Urs (three), M D Parthasarathy (four), Ninganna (19) and K M Shankar (22).

(Published 11 March 2013, 18:22 IST)

Follow us on