Congress ups its performance

Congress ups its performance

Internal bickerings hurt JD(S) prospects, BJP wins one seat

Congress ups its performance

The Congress has managed to increase its tally in ULB polls (to one CMC, four TMCs and two town panchayat) in the district, compared to last elections, while the JD(S) has lost a few seats.

There is no change in BJP, as it has maintained the same position.

BSR Congress has opened account, but ex-chief minister B S Yeddyurappa’s KJP has failed.

Out of 161 seats in the district — in one CMC, four TMCs and two TPs — JD(S), which had won 76 seats earlier has won only 61. Congress, which got 43 seats earlier has won 57 now. BJP had won nine seats and has retained the same count. Independents, who had won 23 seats in all, have won in 25 seats.

The internal bickerings in the JD(S) have had its effect on the results. The party, which was in power in Mandya CMC — with 21 seats — has secured only nine. Congress, which had just five seats, has won 15 seats.

Ravikumar Ganiga, who has plans to contest independently in the forthcoming Assembly polls, and two of his supporters have emerged victorious.

The results in Pandavapura town panchayat has shocked the JD(S). The party, which had won 16 seats out of 18 earlier, had to be content with only nine this time. Sarvodaya Party has won six seats for the first time, raising hopes.

The difference of opinion among leaders has affected the Congress badly in Malavalli. It has come down from 11 to seven seats in the town municipal council. JD(S) has won 11 seats.

Srirangapatna has disappointed the JD(S), as it has won only six seats, against its previous tally of 10. The Congress has improved from two to seven.Ex-MLA D C Thammanna’s inclusion into JD(S) has proved successful for the party as it has won 14 seats in Maddur, one more than the previous council. By winning 13 seats in K R Pet Congress has gained upper hand. JD(S) has to be content with just five seats. BJP has won four seats.
Congress, which had secured eight seats last time, in Nagamangala has maintained status quo. JD(S), which had won eight seats has got one less — seven this time. One seat goes to Independent.