'Remove flexes, boards highlighting State govt projects'

'Remove flexes, boards highlighting State govt projects'

DC warns action against poll code violators, paid news

Deputy Commisssioner N Prakash has said that with the model code of conduct in force, the district administration has initiated measures to remove all the flexes, banners and boards highlighting the projects of the State government in the district.

Speaking to presspersons here on Friday, he said that political parties and officials have been directed to strictly implement model code of conduct. A district-level meeting of the officers has been held to direct them to make preparations to conduct a free and fair election in the district. Disciplinary actions will be initiated against the officials if there was any complaint over their way of functioning. The model code of conduct will be in force till May 11.

Poll expenses

MCC Commissioner Dr Harish Kumar said that all the programmes arranged by various political parties upto April 10 will be included in the expenditure of the political parties. The arrival of candidate for filing nominations in a procession will also be included in expenditure list of the candidate.


There are 14,61,659 voters in Dakshina Kannada district as on electoral list published on January 28, 2013. This includes 7,36,497 female voters and 7,251,652 male voters. This includes, 1,89,625 voters in Belthangady (96,494 male and 93,131 female voters); 1,67,136 voters in Moodabidri (7,9855 male and 8,7281 female); 1,98,366 voters in Mangalore North constituency (96,994 male and 101372 female voters); 1,98,382 voters (94816 male and 103566 female voters) in Mangalore South constituency; 1,64,305 voters (81,069 male and 83,236 female voters) in Mangalore constituency; 1,92,884 voters (97,221 male and 95,663 female) in Bantwal; 1,74,607 voters (89,198 male and 85,409 female) in Puttur and 1,76,354 voters (89,515 male and 86,839 female) in Sullia.

All those who are above 18 years of age can apply to include their names in electoral list till April 13.

All the applications received for registration of names and to make corrections in the already existing voters ID will be disposed by April 20 and the names will be included in the already prepared electoral rolls and are eligible to exercise their franchise.

Polling booths

There are 1,627 polling booths. This includes Belthangady—224, Moodbidri—193, Mangalore North—191, Mangalore South—198, Mangalore—177, Bantwal—227, Puttur—202 and Sullia—215. There are 101 auxiliary polling booths in the district. About 99.76 per cent of the voters have received voters ID in the district.

Paid news

Stating that the Election Commission of India has taken paid news seriously, Dr Harish said that to deal with the issue of paid news, a mechanism has been laid out and monitoring committees have been formed at the district-level. Additional DC Dayanand, Zilla Panchayat CEO Dr K N Vijayaprakash were present.