Filing of nominations at snail's pace

Filing of nominations at snail's pace

Dist admn sets up SMS based complaint system for poll violations

Filing of nominations at snail's pace

With only four days left for the deadline to file nominations, only one nomination paper has been filed on the third day of filing of nominations to Karnataka State Assembly elections, scheduled to be held on May 5.

Umanath M Suvarna has filed nomination as an independent candidate from Moodbidri constituency. With this, a total of nine nominations by eight candidates have been filed in the district.

As many as three independent candidates have filed their nominations in Udupi and Baindur constituencies in Udupi district.

Thukaram Kotian has filed nomination as an indepedent candidate in Udupi constituency. Abdul Ajeed and Lokesh Borkar have filed as independent candidates from Baindur constituencies. No nominations were filed from Kaup, Karkala and Kundapur constituencies. The last date for filing the nomination is April 17. Nominations will be scrutinised on April 18. The last date for withdrawal of nomination is April 20, said a press release from Udupi DC Dr M T Reju.

Complain through SMS

The Dakshina Kannada district administration has set up an SMS based complaint system for poll related incidents or violations in any of the assembly constituencies in the district. People can SMS their complaint with information on place where violation has taken place along with short description to 8123666266.


As a part of awareness programme under Systematic Voters Education and Electoral Participation Plan (SVEEP), zilla panchayat and ITDP organised an awareness programme at Madyapadav Koraga Colony.

The Koraga folk team created awareness on exercising franchise. Zilla Panchayat CEO Dr K N Vijayaprakash and ITDP officer Sabeer Ahammed Mulla were present.
Cash seized

The police have filed a case against a contractor who was transporting unaccounted cash in Sullia.

PWD contractor Gopalakrishna had withdrawn Rs 8 lakh cash from a bank. He did not have any documents for transporting the cash. He said that he was carrying the cash after encashing the bill for a road work.

Exenditure observers

Two expenditure observers have arrived at Udupi district. Any complaints on expenditure can be brought to their notice. Pranay Babulal Vahne will be in-charge of Udupi, Kundapur and Baindur and he can be contacted at 94835 35028 and Vivek Anand Oru will be in-charge of Kaup, Karkala and can be contacted at 94835 35038.
BSR Cong list

The Udupi district BSR Cogress will field its candidates in all the five constituencies in the district, said a press release from district unit President Dinesh Ganiga.

The candidates are Dheeraj Husain (Kaup), Chowki Uday Kharvi (Baindur), Naseer Husain (Udupi), Santosh Sapaliga (Karkala) and K H Ibrahim (Kundapur).

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)