MI edge past Royals

MI edge past Royals

Mumbai Indians huffed and puffed their way to a four-wicket win over Rajasthan Royals in a thrilling match here tonight to set up a summit showdown with Chennai Super Kings in the Pepsi Indian Premier League.

Chasing a stiff target of 166, Mumbai had a flying start with opener Dwayne Smith (62) once again coming good up front, before Rajasthan Royals bounced back with Kevon Cooper (2/33) striking in the middle.

Mumbai Indians almost choked in the middle yet again but some sensible batting by young Rishi Dhawan and Harbhajan Singh helped them pip Rajasthan.

It will thus be a repeat of the 2010 final which Mumbai lost.

There was a little twist in the tale when Royals took three wickets -- Karthik (22), Rohit Sharma (2) and the prized-scalp of Smith -- in successive overs to leave them at 132 for four in 16.3 overs.

But Pollard calmed the nerves with a first-ball six taking them closer to the target.
There was more drama in store when James Faulkner dismissed Pollard in the next over with 25 runs needed from 15 balls and with five wickets in hand.

With 23 needed from the last two overs, Rayudu hit Cooper for a six before being dropped by Brad Hodge, which proved to be the turning point of the game.

RAJASTHAN ROYALS: Rahul Dravid c Rohit b Harbhajan 43 (37b, 7x4), Ajinkya Rahane b Harbhajan 21 (18b, 3x4), Shane Watson c Rohit b Harbhajan 6 (8b, 1x4), Sanju Samson c Harbhajan b Malinga 0 (2b), Stuart Binny c Harbhajan b Pollard 27 (17b, 3x4, 1x6), Brad Hodge (not out) 19 (20b, 2x4), Kevon Cooper c Smith b Pollard 4 (2b, 1x4), Dishant Yagnik (not out) 31 (17b, 5x4). Extras (LB-4, W-8, NB-2) 14. Total (for 6 wkts, 20 overs) 165
Fall of wickets: 1-44 (Rahane), 2-60 (Watson), 3-64 (Samson), 4-87 (Dravid), 5-104 (Binny), 6-108 (Cooper).

Bowling: Mitchell Johnson 3-0-23-0 (w-1), Rishi Dhawan 4-0-30-0, Pragyan Ojha 4-0-36-0, Harbhajan 4-0-23-3 (w-1), Malinga 4-0-43-1 (nb-2, w-6), Kieron Pollard 1-0-6-2.

MUMBAI INDIANS: Dwayne Smith c Samson b Binny 62 (44b, 6x4, 2x6), Aditya Tare c Samson b Cooper 35 (27b, 3x4, 2x6), Dinesh Kaarthick c Rahane b Cooper 22 (17b, 3x4), Rohit Sharma b Trivedi 2 (7b), Kieron Pollard c Cooper b Faulkner 11 (6b, 1x6), Ambati Raydu b Watson 17 (11b, 1x4, 1x6), Harbhajan Singh (not out) 6 (4b, 1x4), Rishi Dhawan (not out) 4 (2b, 1x4). Extras (LB-6, W-4) 10. Total (6 wkts, 19.5 overs) 169
Fall of wickets: 1-70 (Tare), 2-125 (Kaarthick), 3-128 (Rohit), 4-132 (Smith), 5-141 (Pollard), 6-160 (Rayudu),

Bowling: Vikramjeet Malik 4-0-26-0 (w-2), James Faulkner 4-0-36-1 (w-2), Shane Watson 2.5-0-34-1, Siddharth Trivedi 4-0-23-1, Kevon Cooper 4-0-33-2 (w-2), Stuart Binny 1-0-11-1.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)