Cong forms teams to select candidates for bypolls

Cong forms teams to select candidates for bypolls

Senior leaders of the State Congress on Wednesday constituted two teams to shortlist candidates for the August 21 byelections to the Mandya and Bangalore Rural parliamentary constituencies.

The team for the Mandya constituency comprises former external affairs minister S M Krishna, Chief Minister Siddaramaiah, State Congress chief G Parameshwara and Housing Minister Ambareesh. The team for the Bangalore Rural constituency consists of the State party chief, the chief minister, D K Shivakumar, Ministers Ramalinga Reddy, K J George and T B Jayachandra.

The decision was taken at a meeting attended by Parameshwara, Siddaramaiah, Dharam Singh, Jaffer Sharief, Ramesh Kumar and Veeranna Mattikatti. The party is facing difficulty in selecting candidates as there are many aspirants.

Parameshwara later told reporters that the candidates would be shortlisted in two to three days after consulting the block and district party presidents. The BJP core committee, which met on Wednesday evening, decided to finalise its candidates after consulting the local leaders.

Liked the story?

  • Happy
  • Amused
  • Sad
  • Frustrated
  • Angry

Thanks for Rating !

Dear Reader,

Welcome to our new site! We would appreciate it if you could send us your feedback about our site to ​

Thanks for your support!