BJP to appoint in-charges for 28 LS seats

BJP to appoint in-charges for 28 LS seats

The BJP core committee on Saturday is understood to have decided to appoint in-charges in each of the 28 parliamentary constituencies in the State in preparation for the Lok Sabha polls.

The meet, attended by former chief ministers Jagadish Shettar and D V Sadananda Gowda, State party president Pralhad Joshi and national general secretary Ananth Kumar, is learnt to have discussed the party’s debacle in the Legislative Council bypolls and also the stand taken by the party not to field any candidates in the Mandya and Bangalore (Rural) Lok Sabha bypolls in support of the JD(S).

The BJP had an electoral alliance with the KJP for the Council bypolls, but failed to win a single seat. Both the Lok Sabha seats were bagged by the Congress despite the JD(S)-BJP alliance.

However, the meeting could not take a final decision on whether the party should enter into an alliance for next year’s Lok Sabha elections. It also decided to take up a revamp of the state office bearers soon.

It was decided to draw the schedule for Gujarat Chief Minister Narendra Modi’s visit to the State, in consultation with the central leadership, it is learnt.
The meet decided to launch a signature campaign against the policies of the UPA government across the State from September 9.