Bharath steals show

Bharath steals show

Bharath KA of Gupta College of Manageme­nt and Chethan B of GFGC, KR Puram stole the show with new meet records on the opening day of the Bangalore University inter-collegiate athletic champions­h­ip here at the Sree Kant­e­e­rava Stadium on Thursday.

Bharath clocked 1:53.7 seconds to win the 800-metre gold, eclipsing the previous record of 1:54.5 held by V Rohith of Al-Ameen College in 2004. Vinay N (1:54.9) of National College, Jayanagar and Barthalome Puttaraj (1:55.1) Al-Ameen College finished second and third respectively.

Chethan cleared 2.10 metres to rewrite the previous record (2.03M) he had set during the 2012 meet. Imran Pasha of GFGC, Nelamangala was a distant second with an effort of 1.65M while the bronze went to Harisha (1.60M) of GFGC, Chennaptna.

DH News Service

Results (men): 100M: Arun Kumar V (Govt. College for Boys, Kolar) 10.8 seconds, 1; Ranganath BR (Al-Ameen College) 11.1, 2; Tanuj Batavia (St Joseph’s College of Commerce) 11.3, 3.
800M: Bharath KA (Gupta College of Management) 1:53.7s, (NMR) (Old Record by V Rohith of Al-Ameen College, Bangalore in 2004, 1:54.5s) 1; Vinay N (National College, Jayanagar) 1:54.9, 2; Barthalome Puttaraj (Al-Ameen College) 1:55.1, 3.
5000M: Sudhir Sharma S (Surana College) 16:09.1, 1; Shivam Patel (Al-Ameen College) 17:23.6, 2; Pawan (Al-Ameen College), 17:58.6, 3.
High jump: Chethan B (GFGC, KR Puram) 2.10M (NMR) (Old Record by Chethan B., GFGC, KR Puram in 2012; 2.03M) 1; Imran Pasha (GFGC, Nelamangala) 1.65M, 2; Harisha UK (GFGC, Channapatna) 1.60M, 3; Ahamed Faizal B (MS Ramaiah College) 1.60M, 3.
Discus throw: Venkatesha C (Al-Ameen College) 36.81M, 1; Rahul Ghorai (New Horizon Col. Marathahalli) 35.45M, 2; Mahadevappa M (National College, B’Gudi) 27.62M, 3.
Women: 100M: Meghana Shetty (St  Joseph’s College of Commerce) 12.3S, 1; Veena H Adagimani (Aishwarya FGC) 12.6, 2; Ompriya S (BGS Institute of Management Studies) 13.7, 3.
800M: Gracey A (SEA College) 2:39.9, 1; Poornima R (NMKRV College for Women) 2:41.1, 2; Sushmitha (Jyoti Nivas College) 2:48.9, 3.
5000M: Pavithra (Maharani’s Arts, Commerce & Management College) 21:58.5, 1; Rashmitha S (NMKRV College for Women) 22:17.3, 2; Ashwini M (GFGC, Bangarutirupathi) 25:05.7, 3.
High jump: Neethi (Mount Carmel College), 1.24M, 1; Shruthi Nekanti (Jyoti Nivas College), 1.22, 2; Pushpita Roy (MS Ramaiah College), 1.18M, 3.
Discus throw: Diana (Jyoti Nivas College) 24.45M, 1; G Geethanjali (The Oxford College of Science) 23.90M, 2; Kavitha TV (GFGC, Yelahanka) 23.55, 3.