Disappointed: Edwards

Last Updated 25 September 2013, 18:04 IST

West Indies ‘A’ batsmen Kirk Edwards and Kraig Brathwaite missed their centuries by a whisker, and their dismissals also allowed India ‘A’ to claw their way back into the game at the Gangotri Glades on Wednesday.

Edwards was dismissed for 91, while Brathwaite was ousted for 92.

Until they were at the crease, the visitors looked in command at 175 for one tea. But once they departed India plucked two more wickets in the final session to restrict Windies to 264 for five at close.

Edwards was understandably disappointed after missing the landmark, and more importantly his team losing the momentum.

 “Yeah, obviously (I’m disappointed). It would’ve been nice for me and Kraigg to get a century because we did all the hard work. But it wasn’t to be. You have to just accept it and move on,” said the 28-year-old Edwards. “I think we lost two or three wickets too much, but having said that, it keeps the game interesting.”

The Bajan started slow and allowed Brathwaite the bulk of strike but when he found his footing, Edwards took it to a whole new level, striking 11 fours and a huge six off Parvez Rasool.   “The pitch was a bit spongy in the beginning so it required a bit more patience. We had to get ourselves in and see that phase out,” the burly batsman noted when asked about the cautious start early on. “On the day I thought myself that if the guys were going to attack me then I am going to make use of their energy and let them bowl the short stuff at me. I just teased them a bit and took what was on offer later on,” said the right-hander.

Score board

WEST INDIES ‘A’: Kraigg Brathwaite c Motwani b Rasool 92 (215b 12x4), Kieron Powell lbw Shammi 0 (5b), Kirk Edwards b Pandey 91 (162b, 11x4, 1x6), Narsingh Deonarine c & b Rasool 28 (44b, 2x4, 1x6), Assad Fudadin (not out) 4 (65b), Leon Johnson lbw Paliwal 10 (21b, 2x4), Chadwick Walton (not out) 26 (32b, 4x4, 1x6). Extras (B-3, LB-6, NB-4) 13. Total (for 5 wkts, 90 overs) 264.

Fall of wickets: 1-3, 2-175, 3-211, 4-223, 5-237.

Bowling: Mohammed Shami 16-2-54-1, Ishwar Pandey 19-5-53-1, Ashoke Dinda 16-2-43-0, Parvez Rasool 27-10-60-2, Rajat Paliwal 8-2-28-1, Harshad Khadiwale 4-0-17-0.

(Published 25 September 2013, 18:04 IST)

Follow us on