Reddys unhappy down to 'core'

Reddys unhappy down to 'core'

This has caused heartburn among the rebellions. Having lost the first battle to the Bellary Reddys in conceding to constitute the core-committee, the CM seems to have hit back by having several of his die-hard loyalists on the panel. He has scored another point over his rivals by ensuring State party unit president D V Sadananda Gowda head the committee. The Reddy camp wanted either Ananth Kumar or Sushma Swaraj to head the panel. Party sources said Swaraj, Arun Jaitley and Venkaiah Naidu will only advise, but will not be participating in its meetings.

The first meeting of the panel will be held at 10:30 am on Wednesday. The panel is suposed to meet once every month.

Soon after the list was announced, Minister Karunakara Reddy’s supporters  held a meeting at his house. The camp is dissatisfied with both senior leaders Rajnath Singh and Venkaiah Naidu for allowing the CM to have his four supporters - V S Acharya, Basavaraj Bommai, Katta Subramanya Naidu and R Ashok on the panel. “With so many members on the panel, it is difficult to take unanimous decisions on controversial issues. It may go for voting when consensus elude,” sources said.

 By ensuring that Suresh Kumar and Visvesvara Hedge Kageri are on the panel, political observers feel the CM strategically won their support. The party high
command had shortlisted them for the Speaker’s post much to their reluctance. With their inclusion, Yeddyurappa has ensured that they will continue as ministers.
On the other hand, all major decision will be scrutinised by the CM’s rivals - Karunakara Reddy and Jagadish Shettar. Presence of K S Eshwarappa and Ananth Kumar both of whom have been waging a cold war against the CM, is likely to add to the discomfort of Yeddyurappa. RSS representatives Santhosh and V Satish, the State general secretary (organisation) and central co-secretary (organisation) respectively, are special invitees. In all, there seems to be a strong RSS flavour in the composition of the panel. At least eight members have RSS background.

Panel members

The core-committee: D V Sadananda Gowda; B S Yeddyurappa; Ananth Kumar; V S Acharya; Jagadish Shettar; K S Eshwarappa; Karnukara Reddy; R Ashok; Visvesvara Hegde Kageri; Suresh Kumar; Katta Subramanya Naidu; Basavaraj Bommai
Special invitee: V Satish; Santhosh

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily