Three more cities in State upgraded to Corporation

The presidents and vice-presidents of the City Municipal Councils (CMCs) of Shimoga, Tumkur and Bijapur, which have been upgraded as corporations, will don the role of mayor and deputy mayor and the members will become corporators.

The State government on Friday gazetted the notification upgrading three CMCs as corporations. The State Cabinet in September this year had given its nod for giving the three CMCs the status of corporations as their population has crossed the three-lakh mark as per the 2011 census.

The government is likely to grant Rs 100 crore each for the development of these corporations. 

With the upgrading of the CMCs, the total number of corporations in the State will rise to 11. The others are: Bangalore, Mysore, Mangalore, Gulbarga, Hubli-Dharwad, Belgaum, Davangere and Bellary.

Comments (+)