Anup, Sourabh in final

Tanvi knocks out Arundhati in women's semifinal

Anup, Sourabh in final

Karnataka’s Anup Sridhar was made to work hard by ASS Siril Varma of Andhra Pradesh before he wrapped up the match 21-15, 18-21, 21-13 to advance into the final of the Canara Bank all-India Senior-ranking badminton tournament at the KBA courts, here on Friday.

Sridhar will face PET’s Sourabh Varma, who beat Sameer Verma of Madhya Pradesh 21-16, 21-15, in the final on Saturday.

The women’s final will be between Tanvi Lad of Air India and Rituparna Das of Andhra Pradesh. Tanvi knocked out top seed Arundhati Pantawane of Maharashtra 21-13, 20-22, 21-16 while Rituparna powered past Sayali Gokhale 21-17, 22-20.

Sridha  expected a tough fight from Varma and although he got the win in the end, could not escape getting a red card after breaking his racquet in frustration after the match.   “I was under a lot of stress and pressure and I just did it in the heat of the moment, I have apologised to everyone and assure it will never happen again,’’ Sridhar said.

In the first game, Varma, who stunned Arvind Bhat in the quarters, used the forehand to good effect planting them in empty spaces as the contest was tied at 15-15 before Sridhar took charge to win the game.

Varma staged a scintillating comeback after being down 8-14 in the second game to keep the match alive with a 21-18 win riding on his smart net play, drop shots and well placed smashes.

But Sridhar was unstoppable in the deciding third game as he gave Varma no chance with an aggressive approach and penetrative play.

It was game and match to Sridhar at 21-13 but the racquet breaking act soon after took away some of the sheen.

DH News Service
Results (Prefix denotes seedings): Men’s singles (Semifinals): 1-Sourabh Varma (PET) bt 6-Sameer Verma (MP) 21-16, 21-15; 2-Anup Sridhar (Kar) bt ASS Siril Varma (AP) 21-15, 18-21, 21-13
Quarterfinals: Sourabh Varma bt 8-Subhankar Dey (Mah) 21-17, 14-21, 21-16; Sameer Verma (MP) bt Moheet Kamat (Rly) 21-12, 21-13; ASS Siril Varma (AP) bt 7-Arvind Bhat (Kar) 23-21, 21-18; Anup Sridhar bt Chetan Anand B (PET) 21-16, 21-11.
Men’s doubles (Semifinals): 1-Pranaav Jerry Chopra/ Akshay Dewalkar (AI) bt Rupesh Kumar KT (PET)/ Sanave Thomas (Ker) 21-16, 21-17; K Nanda Gopal (AAI)/ T Hemanagendra Babu (AP) bt Bennet Antony/ Suraj PH (Ker) 21-10, 21-11.
Quarterfinals: Pranaav Jerry Chopra (PET)/ Akshay Dewalkar (AI) bt Prem Singh Chouhan (Raj)/ Manish Gupta (CG) 21-10, 21-13; Rupesh Kumar KT (PET)/ Sanave Thomas (Ker) bt 3-Manu Attri (AAI)/ B Sumeeth Reddy (AP) 21-13, 16-21, 21-13; K Nanda Gopal (AAI)/ T Hemanagendra Babu (AP) bt 4-Tarun K (PET)/ Jishnu Sanyal (AI) 21-18, 21-13; Bennet Antony/ Suraj PH (Ker) bt 2-Alwin Francis (Ker)/ Arun Vishnu (PET) 21-17, 21-17.
Women’s singles (Semifinals): 3-Tanvi Lad (AI) bt 1-Arundhati Pantawane (Mah) 21-13, 20-22, 21-16; 2-Rituparna Das (AP) bt 4-Sayali Gokhale (AI) 21-17, 22-20.
Quarterfinals: Arundhati bt 8-Mudra Dhainje (AI) 0-1 retd; Tanvi bt 6-Neha Pandit (AAI) 22-20, 21-14; Sayali bt Aditi Mutatkar (PET) 21-12, 22-20; Rituparna bt Rasika Raje (Mah) 21-7, 21-18.
Women’s doubles (Semifinals): 1-Prajakta Sawant (PET)/ Arathi Sara Sunil (Ker) bt 4-Varsha Belawadi/ Nischitha GM (Kar) 21-11, 21-12; Meghana J (AP)/ Siki Reddy N (AAI) bt Dhanya Nair (Rly)/ Mohita Sahdev (AAI) 21-14, 21-17.  
Quarterfinals: Prajakta Sawant (PET)/ Arathi Sara Sunil (Ker) bt Amrita Mukherjee/ Sheshadri Sanyal (WB) 21-8, 21-8; Varsha Belawadi/ Nischitha GM (Kar) bt Haritha MH (Ker)/ Pramada V (AP) 21-13, 17-21, 21-14; Meghana J (AP)/ Siki Reddy (AAI) bt Jamuna Rani R/ Leela Lakshmi R (AP) 21-12, 21-11; Dhanya Nair (Rly)/ Mohita Sahdev (AAI) bt Jamuna Rani R/ Leela Lakshmi R (AP) 21-12, 21-11; Dhanya Nair (Rly)/ Mohita Sahdev (AAI) bt Mahima Aggarwal/ Shikha Gautam (Kar) 21-17, 21-13.
Mixed doubles (Semifinals): 1-Tarun K/ Ashwini Ponnappa (PET) bt Sanave Thomas (Ker)/ Prajakta Sawant (PET) 21-13, 21-16; 2-K Nanda Gopal/ Siki Reddy N (AAI) bt Hemanagendra Babu/ Poorvisha S. Ram (Kar) 21-14, 21-16. Quarterfinals: Tarun K/ Ashwini (PET) bt Prem Singh Chouhan (Raj)/ Garima Yadav (MP) 21-13, 21-14; Sanave (Ker)/ Prajakta (PET) bt Sanyam Shukla/ Sanyogita Ghorpade (AI) 13-21, 21-13, 21-14; T Hemanagendra (AP)/ Poorvisha (Kar) bt Ram C Vijay/ Arathi Sara Sunil (Ker) 21-19, 13-21, 21-19; K Nanda Gopal/ Siki N (AAI) bt Adarsh Kumar/ Nischitha GM (Kar) 21-8, 21-11.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)