Gambhir is Cricketer of the Year

Gambhir is Cricketer of the Year

Gambhir, who has notched seven hundreds in his last nine Tests including four in the last four, also won the Test Batsman of the Year award at a function held here.

Gambhir’s India and Delhi opening mate Virender Sehwag won the ODI Batsman of the Year award.

The Test Bowler of the Year award was bagged by Australia’s left-arm pacer Mitchell Johnson. Spin great Erapalli Prasanna was given the Lifetime Achievement award while Australia got the Team of the Year award.

Indian off-spinner Harbhajan Singh was given a special felicitation award for completing 300 wickets in Tests.

The International Spirit of Cricket award went to Sri Lanka batsman Thilan Samaraweera who got injured in the Lahore terror attack in March.

The award winners: International Cricketer of the Year and Test Batsman of the Year: Gautam Gambhir. ODI Batsman of the Year: Virender Sehwag. Test Bowler of the year: Mitchell Johnson (Australia). ODI Bowler of the Year: Ajantha Mendis (Sri Lanka). Spirit of Cricket Award: Thilan Samaraweera (Sri Lanka). Special award for completing 300 Test wickets: Harbhajan Singh. Lifetime Achievement Award: E A S Prasanna.