21 candidates file nominations for LS polls in Karnataka

21 candidates file nominations for LS polls in Karnataka

Twenty one candidates, including Union Minister K H Muniyappa and BJP leader Ananth Kumar, filed their nomination papers, as the ball was set rolling today for the April 17 Lok Sabha polls in Karnataka.

Karnataka Electoral officials said 21 candidates including eight independents have filed nominations today.

Ananth Kumar, Shobha Karandlaje, P C Mohan and B M Jayadev Mathad filed their nominations from Bangalore South, Udupi-Chikkmagalur, Bangalore Central and Haveri parliamentary constituencies, respectively.

Muniyappa and Manjunath Bhandary (Cong) filed nominations from Kolar (Reserved) and Shimoga Lok Sabha constituencies, respectively.

Kumar is seeking re-election for the sixth time from Bangalore South, where he is being challenged by former Infosys co-founder and face of "Aadhar" programme, Nandan Nilekani on Congress ticket.

JDS Karnataka unit president A Krishnappa, accompanied by former Prime Minister and party supremo H D Deve Gowda, submitted his nomination papers for the Tumkur Lok Sabha seat.

Speaking to reporters, Kumar said the BJP would win at least 20 of the 28 seats from Karnataka, riding high on the Narendra Modi wave throughout the country.

Comments (+)