Corporation for development of disabled: CM

Corporation for development of disabled: CM

More funds promised in next budget

Corporation for development of disabled: CM

The Corporation will help the disabled in providing financial support. He said that more funds will be allotted to help the disabled community in the next year's budget. Free bus passes were given to 9.40 lakh disabled persons at the cost of 7.5 crores, more passes will be issued at the cost of 15 crores shortly. 

There is 15 percent reservation for government jobs for SC/ST, 3 percent for A and B category and 5 percent for C and D categories. “We will try to recruit eligible disabled candidates and fill the back log vacancies in government jobs,” he assured. 

At present, there are 25 special schools availing grants from the government, another 185 schools will shortly join the list to receive grants up to 25-30 crores, assured the CM.

M Narendra Swamy, Women and Child Welfare minister requested the chief minister make provisions to build a 'Bhavana' for the disabled under the BBMP grants to which chief minister adhered and assured to to create one shortly.  

Since World Disabled Day was not celebrated in 2008, this year winners of 2008 and 2009 were awarded.  Institutions were awarded with Rs. 25,000 and citation, individuals and special teachers were awarded with cash prize of Rs. 10,000 and citation.  Braille Calender-2010 specially developed for visually challenged was released on the occasion. Cultural programme by disabled children was also organised.

The winners for 2008 are

* Institution - JSS Sahana Integrated School, Jayanagar

* Individuals- Imthiyaaz Ahmad Kachavi (Haveri), Lakshmana Sathappa Magadumma (Belgaum), Prahalad Desai, G H Tulasidhara, H P Uma, G Manjunath, P Somashekar, Wooday P Krishna (all from Bangalore

* Special Teachers Award: For Hearing impaired to Hemalatha C (Tumkur), For Visually Impaired to Kasthuri (Dakshina Kannada), Resource Teacher to Ramesh (Chikkaballapur), Multiple Disability to Ashok Kumar P (Dakshina Kannada), Mental Retardation to Vijayalakshmi Yallappa Kalal Koppal

Winners for 2009

* Institutions: Sri Ramana Maharshi Trust for Disabled Persons (Kolar), Mathru Blind Education Society (Bangalore), National Banjara Education Society (Gulbarga), Swastha Special Educational and Rehabilitation Centre (Kodagu)

* Individual: Visually Challenged to Mahantesh G Kivudasannavar

* Orthopaedically Challenged: William D’sa (Udupi), Wilfred V Gomes (Udupi), R Gururao (Bangalore), Lokesh G (Tumkur), Prakash Hanumanth Harijan (Bagalkot), Danake Santosh (Bidar),

* General: Umesh Kulkarni (Bangalore)

Special Teachers award

Hearing impaired to Sister Elikutti from Kodagu

Visually impaired to Basavaraju from Bangalore

Mental Retardation

Usha Jospeh Kumar, Indira J (both Bangalore), Gurumurthy (Bellary).