Stany edges Himanshu to clinch crown

Favou­rite Stany GA edged out fellow International Master Himanshu Sharma to emerge champion in the Karnataka State Open FIDE-rated chess championship here on Wednesday.

Stany drew with Prachura PP while Himanshu defeated Manjunath in their respective final-round games to finish on 8.5 points. However, Stany was adjudged winner on better tie-break. 

Stany has now secured a direct entry for this year’s National Challenger Chess Championship.

Himanshu, N Sanjay, Raghavendra V, Sushrutha Reddy and Arvind Shastry will also represent Karnataka in the National Challenger, in Himachal Pradesh from May 9 to 19.
Manjunath will be disappointed with his showings as he lost his way after being at the top of the leaderboard for the first few days. 
In other matches, Raghavendra posted a victory over Balkishan A and Sushrutha notched a comfortable win over Santoshkashyap. 
Important results (final round): Prachura PP (7.5) drew with IM Stany GA (8.5); IM Himanshu Sharma (8.5) bt Manjunath J (7); Arvind Shastry (7.5) drew with Sanjay N (8); Balkishan A (7) lt to Raghavendra V (8); Sushrutha Reddy (8) bt Santoshkashyap HG (7); FM Joydeep Dutta (7) drew with Likhit Chilukuri (7.5); Kishan Gangolli (7.5); bt Deepak Kumar Payeng (6.5); Abhijit Chutia (6.5) lt to Vinayak Kulkarni (7.5); Gavi Siddayya (7) drew with Dhanush Bharadwaj (7); Sharan Rao (7.5) bt  Raju M (6.5); Parthasarathy R (7.5) bt Aditya Chakraborty (6.5); Tulsi M (6.5) drew with Shreeshan S (6.5); Mandloi Mukesh (7) bt Shakthi P (6); Shruthi K (7) bt Jatin SN (6); Nikhil Murugkar (6) lt to Ojas Kulkarni (7); Arjun Adappa (7) bt Ram Vishwanathan (6); Upendra K (7) bt Chaithanya Ganesh (6); Harish BN (7) bt Walvekar Praveen (6); Jagadish P (7) bt Palani G (6); Prabhakaran K (7) bt Sudarshan Bhat (6).
DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)