Ch'nagar: 14 candidates in fray

Ch'nagar: 14 candidates in fray

Ch'nagar: 14 candidates in fray

The fate of the 14 candidates of Chamarajanagar district, who had entered the fray for the Lok Sabha polls will be sealed on Friday, with polling beginning at 7 am and closing at 6 pm. 

Chamarajanagar, Gundlupet, Kollegal, Hanur, H D Kote, Varuna, Nanjangud and T Narasipura constitute the Chamarajanagar LS constituency. In all, 15,55,538 including 61sexual minorities are eligible to cast their votes on Thursday.

Police security

The district administration and Police department have made necessary arrangements for a smooth conduct of polls.

Police security has been beefed up in the district to enable peaceful polling in the district. Each LS constituency will have one DSP and three Circle inspectors. The 960 polling booths have been divided into 64 divisions with each division having one PSI and ASI grade sector mobile officer.

Apart from this, KSRP, CRPF and DAR forces will be deployed at places with more than two polling booths.

SP, ASP, along with DSP-4, Inspectors - 17, PSI-50, ASI-60, HCPC-700, AHCPC-300, Homeguards-500 and 400 staff from KSRP and CRPF have been deployed for bandobust. Deputy Commissioner A M Kunjappa said, all arrangements have been made to ensure a peaceful and transparent election process to the Lok Sabha on April 17.

“Services of a total of 9,344 officials, including 4,672 booth officials, are being used for the exercise. Out of them 1,120 officials have opted for postal ballot. Other personnel, including homeguards and drivers have been issued poll duty certificates. So, they can exercise their franchise at the polling booths, where they have been deputed,” he said.

The DC said, 2,094 ballot units and an equal number of control units of EVMs will be used in 1,940 polling booths across the constituency.  Information to voters about their polling booths will be provided by using laptops. Token system has also been introduced to reduce the waiting time,” he said.