Largest poll phase begins

Largest poll phase begins

Largest poll phase begins

Nearly 197 million voters will exercise their francise to decide the fate of 1,767 candidates across 121 constituencies in 12 states in the fifth phase of polls on Thursday.

The states that will witness polling are: Bihar, Chhattisgarh, Jammu and Kashmir, Jharkhand, Karnataka, Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra, Manipur, Odisha, Rajasthan, Uttar Pradesh and West Bengal.

The Election Commission (EC) has already conducted polling in 111 parliamentary constituencies since the first phase on April 7.

Thursday’s exercise is going to be the largest of the nine phases the poll panel has scheduled to elect 543 members to the 16th Lok Sabha.

Assembly elections

Seventy-seven of the 147 Assembly constituencies in Odisha will go to polls on Thursday, along with the parliamentary elections to the state’s 11 seats in the Lok Sabha.

Polling for by-election in two Assembly constituencies in West Bengal will also take place on Thursday.