Polling begins in Manipur

Polling begins in Manipur

Polling begins in Manipur

Polling began in Manipur for the second and last phase of Lok Sabha elections in the Inner Manipur constituency today.

Among the eight candidates contesting, prominent ones were sitting Congress MP Th Meinya, former Manipur University Professor R K Ranjan of BJP, former Manipur Rifles commandant S Manaobi of Trinamool Congress, senior CPI leader M Nara and the lone woman candidate O Indira an Independent.

The Congress held the prestigious seat for 10 years.

An electorate of 826,755, including 4,15,314 males, was expected to cast their votes in 6,398 polling stations in the four valley districts of Imphal East, Imphal West, Bishenpur, and Thoubal.

Precautionary measures were taken in view of militant outfit Manipur Maoist Party boycotting the poll.

Altogether 11,713 security personnel including central paramilitary forces were deployed for parliamentary seat.

The first phase of the polls was held in the Outer Manipur seat on April 9.